How we design wedding stationery

Here at Artcadia, development of new design ranges is ongoing. Unless a range refuses to go to bed, its longevity is under threat! Looking back, our first designs make me cringe a bit, almost in the way people reflect on their 80s appearance and tailoring. It surprises me that even when a design has been superseded numerous times, we will receive requests to bring it back.

So, this rebrand has been a bit of a clear-out, not so much to rid Artcadia of designs customers no longer favour, but as a means to reflect our own style and local inspiration. This could be considered business suicide, but I strive to achieve a recognisable quality in our style delivery.

Of course we’re not going to refuse printing of our former lines, but to encourage the development of this process, we will only retail them through our online outlets, Notonthehighstreet, Folksy and Etsy.

Our printing room overlooks our established garden, which due to work commitments has a rather charming, out of control look. This year, the mint in our herb patch has devoured all other herbascious species and looks gorgeous in its entire dominant splendor. In recent days I find myself admiring the subtle lilac tone of the mint flowers, thinking the stems and flora would look great in print and may fill a gap in our existing offer, with something a little more feminine and lady like.

I’m going to ramble through our process from design conception though to printing and the tale begins in the herb garden.

Artcadia's herb garden

I send Richard into the bee infested herb patch to retrieve a lavender stem, while I choose a nice dry grass stem and mint flower. Happy with the selection, I pop the stems together, while trying to envisage how the invite text will eventually sit with the image.

Stems positioned and posing

I have a doodle.

Interesting fact about me...I cannot hold a pen correctly

As this design will be a letterpressed, I’m using a pen that isn’t too fine. Once I’m happy with the general appearance, I’ll take the drawing and scan it in.

I turn the image into a vector file, so I can scale and colour as required.

Read the next post on Saturday, part two of our design process, including layout styles, font selection and invitation wording.  The final post will showcase the most exciting part, printing it!

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “How we design wedding stationery

  1. CharlieB

    Can’t believe we’ve got to wait til Saturday – really looking forward to finding out how you create your beautiful stationery in full 🙂

Leave a Reply

